Go Exec on us! Who's won??

Last updated : 27 April 2009 By Bigrich.....
At the beginning of the month we asked the following question..

The ball is cleared from the goal area (6 yard box) to an attacker who, from the edge of the penalty area, immediately shoots for goal. The ball hits the referee who is standing just outside the corner of the goal area and is deflected into goal. The ball, in the opinion of the referee, was going wide.

Does the referee:
A - Award the goal

or does he disallow the goal and restart play with
B - A Dropped Ball
C - A Goal Kick
D - A Corner Kick

The Answer was: A - Award the goal.

Reason : The referee is considered to be part of the field of play, just like a corner flag post, goal post or crossbar. If the ball rebounds off a goal post, say, then play continues. And so, if the ball hits the referee, play continues. The ball went into goal so a goal is awarded.

53 people got it right, and so they should as it was the easiest question we've posed but yet we still had some wrong answers. However I wont be naming names!!

The draw has just been made and Peter Roebuck has won 4 tickets in the exec area plus meal etc for the seasons final game against Exeter this Saturday.

Howard Painter and Dave Hardy pick up the runners up prize of a copy of Giles Brierleys book "The business of Rotherham United"

Thanks to all that have entered the competition this season and of course big thanks to our sponsors Eric Twigg Foods.

Welcome to MillersMad
Here's our LATEST Messageboard topics
The Soccerlinks Hit List